Andy's
Random Photo Blog

unless stated, none of these photos were taken by me

Archives

E-Mail

My Deviantart Gallery

Getty Images

Photo Bucket

Diaryland

From time to time images are mysteriously deleted by Photofuckit, I cannot stop this. Whenever possible, I will do my best to alter entries with missing images.
<<=+=>>


7:26 pm - 02.26.04
Sadie Hawkins Day
Leap Day, February 29 -- also known as Sadie Hawkins day -- is traditionally a woman�s day to ask a man out or even propose marriage (but that�s not to leave the men out!). This custom started long before the comic L�il Abner made Sadie Hawkins day a popular idea in the 1930�s. It reportedly began in Ireland in the 5th century when St. Bridget convinced St. Patrick to allow one special day that a woman could propose. If the man refused, he was to be fined. (Incidentally, Bridget proposed to Patrick and he said no � and we don�t know if he paid a fine :-).

Some 1,600 years later, there are no fines (whose idea was it to stop that?), but women still have this day every 4 years set aside to profess their love.

<<=+=>>


ask me about pins - 01-02-08
My 80's Nostalgia Page - 11-02-07
The Incredible Buddha Boy - 10-17-07
youthful energy - 10-15-07
Bizarre Love Triangle - 10-15-07