Andy's
Random Photo Blog

unless stated, none of these photos were taken by me

Archives

E-Mail

My Deviantart Gallery

Getty Images

Photo Bucket

Diaryland

From time to time images are mysteriously deleted by Photofuckit, I cannot stop this. Whenever possible, I will do my best to alter entries with missing images.
<<=+=>>


3:40 pm - 08.19.04
another reason for the mountain of reasons
My friend Sarah A. is another Sagicorn like myself, we both have strong opinions on a lot of current issues.

She sent this out recently to urge voters not to vote for the Fuckhead.

Not that we need any more reason not to, but here's her statement to the world. Well written, and from the heart.

***

Dear Friends,

I apologize for sending you a mass email of a political nature, but for the first time in my life I am genuinely terrified about the future of the United States. This will be the second time that I will be able to vote in a presidential election. Though I will probably vote for John Kerry, I do not intend to advocate any particular candidate. From this moment, I would, however, like to publicly declare my strong stance against George W. Bush.

While he cannot be blamed for everything bad that has happened during his presidency, such as the attacks on September 11, I feel that he has seldom acted with the best interests of the United States in mind. His self-serving presidency has not only resulted in the United States isolating itself from much of the world, but has also created a tension-filled nation. His pet project, the Department of Homeland Security has kept America in a frightened state over the past year with its color-coded Threat Advisory, which is frequently broadcast and also prominently displayed at the department's website. This helps keep people wondering whether the folly of leading nearly 1000 troops to their death in Iraq might just still be worth it to catch the terrorists responsible for the September 11 tragedy. Nearly everyone has strong feelings about September 11. Literally every time I think about that day, I cry. I remember how helpless and scared my friends and I felt as we watched on television as people jumped out of the World Trade Center. That this tragedy occurred during his presidency has given George W. Bush the trump card he needs to justify so many of his plans. He understands that no one wants to relive that day, so many people are willing to accept casualty-heavy military operations and the formation of large, resource-draining federal bureaus if it might help protect the United States from another terrorist attack.

I could write for a long time about the many negative points of George W. Bush's presidency, but in short, I feel that if he is elected again, America is going to suffer both domestically and internationally. This war, if it can even be called that, has only extended the senseless loss of life that began with September 11. I fear that the United State's antagonistic actions in Iraq will only provoke more terrorist attacks. I fear for the lives of soldiers, for education, the environment, women's rights, freedom of religion, and for so many other things.

George W. Bush does not represent my interests, nor does he represent the richly diverse population of the United States. Perhaps he represents white, Ivy League educated, oil tycoons from Texas, but how many of us really belong to this group?

If you are a United States citizen, I urge you to please vote against George W. Bush in the upcoming elections. Extensive information on absentee voting can be found at: http://www.fvap.gov/

If you are not a United States citizen, I urge you to speak out against George W. Bush. At the bottom of this email, I have provided links to some recent articles that I feel exemplify some of the reasons that we should all fear another Bush presidency.

Again, I apologize for sending such a lengthy, politically-themed mass email. Thank you for taking the time to consider what I feel so passionately about.

Sincerely,

Sarah

Links to articles:

Link 1

Link 2

Link 3

Link 4

Link 5

<<=+=>>


ask me about pins - 01-02-08
My 80's Nostalgia Page - 11-02-07
The Incredible Buddha Boy - 10-17-07
youthful energy - 10-15-07
Bizarre Love Triangle - 10-15-07